Can a VPS host a personal AI agent? Specs and monthly cost

Short answer: yes, for the agent software itself. A "personal agent" that stays online, remembers context and answers you in a chat app needs a machine that does not sleep, and a small VPS is one such machine. Whether it fits depends on one choice: you call a hosted model through an API, or you run the model yourself. This page uses the official docs of three self-hosted agent projects (OpenClaw, Hermes Agent, NanoClaw) and vendor price pages, all checked on 4 Oct 2026. We have not benchmarked any of it, and we have no search-volume data for this topic, so we make no claim about how popular it is.

What OpenClaw's docs say

So the server needs enough RAM for the agent process and its tools. A model you run yourself needs far more memory than the plans below. Model API usage is billed by the model provider, varies with how much you use it, and is not in any figure on this page.

Other self-hosted agents, from their own pages

We did not test any of these projects. Stars, releases and commit dates change often, and the data our tools returned was a cached copy of unknown age, so we do not print them. Open the repository for current numbers. We found no rename or end-of-support notice for OpenClaw in its docs or repository page.

ProjectRun requirements stated by the projectRAM or disk minimum stated?Official repository
OpenClawNode 24.16+ or 26.1+; macOS, Linux or Windows (docs)No minimum found; DigitalOcean guide uses 1 GB plus swapopenclaw/openclaw
Hermes Agent (Nous Research)Linux, macOS (Apple Silicon only) or WSL2 install script; Windows native; Docker image. Current installs run on Python 3.14, which the installer provides. Source install needs Git, curl, tar and SHA-256 tools (docs)Not on the installation pageNousResearch/hermes-agent
NanoClawmacOS or Linux (Windows via WSL2); Node.js 22+ and pnpm 10+; Docker Engine on Linux; Claude Code for setup and skills (README). Agents run in Docker containers.Not stated in the READMEnanocoai/nanoclaw

What this means for a VPS: all three list Linux as a supported system, so a Linux VPS is a supported place to run them. Only OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guide gives a plan size (1 vCPU, 1 GB, with swap). For Hermes Agent and NanoClaw the pages we read give no RAM or disk minimum, so we do not name a plan size for them. NanoClaw also needs Docker, which uses memory and disk on top of the agent. Start small on a monthly plan, watch memory, and resize if the agent runs out.

Small VPS plans and prices

PlanSpecPrice shownPer year (x12)Source, checked 4 Oct 2026
DigitalOcean Basic1 vCPU, 1 GiB, 25 GiB SSD$6.00/mo$72.00digitalocean.com/pricing/droplets
DigitalOcean Basic1 vCPU, 2 GiB, 50 GiB SSD$12.00/mo$144.00same
DigitalOcean Basic2 vCPUs, 2 GiB, 60 GiB SSD$18.00/mo$216.00same
DigitalOcean Basic2 vCPUs, 4 GiB, 80 GiB SSD$24.00/mo$288.00same
Hostinger KVM 11 vCPU, 4 GB RAM, 50 GB NVMe$6.49/mo shown (regular $19.49)Renewal text: $11.99/mo = $143.88hostinger.com/vps-hosting
Hostinger KVM 22 vCPU, 8 GB RAM, 100 GB NVMe$8.99/mo shown (regular $24.49)Renewal text: $14.99/mo = $179.88same
Hostinger KVM 44 vCPU, 16 GB RAM, 200 GB NVMe$12.99/mo shown (regular $42.99)Renewal text: $28.99/mo = $347.88same

DigitalOcean bills per second with a monthly cap, so the monthly figure is the most a full month costs. Hostinger's page shows the promotional price and says "Renews at ... for 2 years. Cancel anytime." The captured page text does not state the billing term of the promotional price, so we do not compute a promo total; check the term at checkout. The yearly column multiplies the monthly figure by 12 and nothing more: no tax, backups, extra IPs or domain.

How to choose

  1. API model, one user, a few chat channels: the 1 GiB plan matches what the OpenClaw guide uses, with swap. The 2 GiB DigitalOcean plan at $12.00 gives headroom for $6.00 more a month ($72.00 a year).
  2. More tools or several agents on one box: start from 4 GB. Hostinger KVM 1 lists 4 GB at a shown $6.49/mo, but its stated renewal is $11.99/mo, so compare the renewal figure ($143.88 a year) with DigitalOcean's 2 GiB plan at $144.00 a year.
  3. A model you run yourself: none of the plans on this page is sized for it. Check the model's own memory requirements first.

Not covered: other agent projects (we list only ones whose official pages we read today), Muse and similar hosted products (no official self-hosting requirements found), Hetzner, Vultr and other providers (not captured on a vendor page today), and security work such as locking down SSH and keeping API keys out of the agent's workspace. For migration and backup planning, see our migration checklist. Per-agent pages: OpenClaw monthly cost, Hermes Agent requirements and cost, OpenClaw vs Hermes Agent. Prices for shared hosting are on the price ledger. How we check prices: editorial policy.

Every VPS size, lowest to higher plans (read in a browser on 4 Oct 2026)

Plans from three providers, sorted by provider and then by size. We list them as a price ladder. We do not recommend a plan.

PlanvCPURAMDiskPrice per monthRenewal priceOpenClaw (official docs)Hermes Agent / NanoClaw / nanobot (official docs)
DigitalOcean Basic1512 MiB10 GiB$4monthly billing, no separate renewal priceBelow the 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
DigitalOcean Basic11 GiB25 GiB$6monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
DigitalOcean Basic12 GiB50 GiB$12monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
DigitalOcean Basic22 GiB60 GiB$18monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
DigitalOcean Basic24 GiB80 GiB$24monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
DigitalOcean Basic48 GiB160 GiB$48monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
DigitalOcean Basic816 GiB320 GiB$96monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Hostinger KVM 114 GB50 GB NVMe$6.49$11.99At or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Hostinger KVM 228 GB100 GB NVMe$8.99$14.99At or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Hostinger KVM 4416 GB200 GB NVMe$12.99$28.99At or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Hostinger KVM 8832 GB400 GB NVMe$25.99$49.99At or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Vultr Cloud Compute (regular)10.5 GB10 GB$2.50 (IPv6 only)monthly, no separate renewal priceBelow the 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Vultr Cloud Compute (regular)10.5 GB10 GB$3.50monthly billing, no separate renewal priceBelow the 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Vultr Cloud Compute (regular)11 GB25 GB$5monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Vultr Cloud Compute (regular)12 GB55 GB$10monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Vultr Cloud Compute (regular)22 GB65 GB$15monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Vultr Cloud Compute (regular)24 GB80 GB$20monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested
Vultr Cloud Compute (regular)48 GB160 GB$40monthly billing, no separate renewal priceAt or above the 1 vCPU / 1 GB example size in OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guideNo official minimum; price step only, not tested

Official numbers we found: OpenClaw needs Node 24.16+ or 26.1+ and its DigitalOcean guide uses 1 vCPU / 1 GB with swap. Hermes Agent, NanoClaw (Node 22+, pnpm 10+, Docker) and nanobot (Python 3.11+, per its quick start) list software requirements but no minimum memory.

Prices read on the providers' own pages on 4 Oct 2026: digitalocean.com/pricing/droplets, hostinger.com/vps-hosting (prices are paid upfront for the term shown on that page; the renewal price applies after the first term), vultr.com/pricing. Hetzner is not listed because its price page did not show prices when we read it. Tax and backups are not included.